8.The stages of reading that a person goes through over the years[How to read a book-Sheikh Salih Al Munajid]

8.The stages of reading that a person goes through over the years[How to read a book-Sheikh Salih Al Munajid]

The original state humankind is ignorance. Allaah the Exalted Said (what means): {And Allaah has 

extracted you from the wombs of your mothers not knowing a thing} [Qur’aan 16:78] 

Knowledge cannot be acquired overnight, and one cannot become an avid reader who follows a 

correct methodology overnight. Developing the reading habit requires patience and taking it in 



The stages that a person goes through in developing a reading habit, in general, are the following 

five stages:


• Making reading beloved to the soul and drawing close to books:

Realizing that inculcating this habit requires a combination of methods and content that attracts 

and encourages people, which is present in particular subjects, such as the biography of the 

Prophet, sallallaahu `alayhi wa sallam, and stories.


• Serious reading:

This needs a great deal of patience and forcing oneself to be patience. In the beginning, the reader

often feels that they have very little benefit, and that is because they are reading new topics that 

they have passed over for the first time. This requires some patience in understanding and 

digesting the information. However, the reader must not get bored, for one must be constant in 

order to be steadfast on the path.


• Achievement reading:

This is where the reader reaches a high level of understanding of what is being read, as a result of 

their consistency and endurance. They overcome impediments, to the point that they understand 

most of what they read and can combine old and new information. At this point, they begin to feel 

enriched in knowledge.


• Critical reading:

In this stage, the milestones of the learned methodology beings complete and clear to the Muslim 

reader, and in this stage, the scales of religion, ability to assess, critique, and judge become 

developed. Based on this, they can differentiate between the mistakes of writers, and discern slips 

and deviations. As a result, they can read everything they pass over.


• Investigative reading:

In this stage, the reader proceeds into the vast horizons of the world of reading, after they have 

learned the fundamentals of knowledge with precision. They can enter the world of books by 

reading even the voluminous books, as well as other books.

Last modified onWednesday, 30 September 2015 03:04
back to top